top of page
Search

Week 3 Chapel Service

In Christ Alone

In Christ alone my hope is found He is my light, my strength, my song This cornerstone, this solid ground Firm through the fiercest drought and storm

What heights of love, what depths of peace When fears are stilled, when strivings cease My comforter, my all in all Here in the love of Christ I stand

Oh-oh...

Here in the ground His body lay Light of the world by darkness slain Then bursting forth in glorious day Oh, up from the grave He rose again

And as He stands in victory Sin's curse has lost its grip on me For I am His and He is mine Bought with the precious blood of Christ

Oh-oh...

No guilt in life, no fear in death This is the power of Christ in me From life's first cry to final breath Oh, Jesus commands my destiny

No power of hell, no scheme of man Can ever pluck me from His hand 'Til He returns or calls me home Here in the power of Christ I'll stand 'Til He returns or calls me home Here in the power of Christ I'll stand


Reading from John chapter 10 verses1-10

The Good Shepherd and His Sheep

1 “Very truly I tell you Pharisees, anyone who does not enter the sheep pen by the gate, but climbs in by some other way, is a thief and a robber.2The one who enters by the gate is the shepherd of the sheep.3The gatekeeper opens the gate for him, and the sheep listen to his voice. He calls his own sheep by name and leads them out.4When he has brought out all his own, he goes on ahead of them, and his sheep follow him because they know his voice.5But they will never follow a stranger; in fact, they will run away from him because they do not recognize a stranger’s voice.”6Jesus used this figure of speech, but the Pharisees did not understand what he was telling them.

7Therefore Jesus said again, “Very truly I tell you, I am the gate for the sheep.8All who have come before me are thieves and robbers, but the sheep have not listened to them.9I am the gate; whoever enters through me will be saved. They will come in and go out and find pasture.10The thief comes only to steal and kill and destroy; I have come that they may have life, and have it to the full.

Prayer

Dear God, Thank you for Jesus who teaches us

how to see things clearly so we can live our lives knowing you died and rose again.

Thank you too for our safe homes and loving families.

We pray that whenever we are not able to see the full picture, we can be patient and wait for the right answers.

Be with all our families and friends during this time. We ask that you may watch over us and provide protection from danger. Please be with our leaders as they have very difficult choices to make about our health and safety in Aotearoa.

Amen.


5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page